Things I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik

Things I Should Have KnownThings I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Goodreads Blurb: From the author of Epic Fail comes the story of Chloe Mitchell, a Los Angeles girl on a quest to find love for her autistic sister, Ivy. Ethan, from Ivy’s class, seems like the perfect match. It’s unfortunate that his older brother, David, is one of Chloe’s least favorite people, but Chloe can deal, especially when she realizes that David is just as devoted to Ethan as she is to Ivy.

Uncommonly honest and refreshingly funny, this is a story about sisterhood, autism, and first love. Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan, who form a quirky and lovable circle, will steal readers’ hearts and remind us all that it’s okay to be a different kind of normal. Continue reading

Big Kid Books | Breath of Fire by Amanda Bouchet

Breath of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles #2)Breath of Fire by Amanda Bouchet

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Goodreads Blurb: SHE’S DESTINED TO DESTROY THE WORLD…
“Cat” Catalia Fisa has been running from her destiny since she could crawl. But now, her newfound loved ones are caught between the shadow of Cat’s tortured past and the threat of her world-shattering future. So what’s a girl to do when she knows it’s her fate to be the harbinger of doom? Everything in her power.

BUT NOT IF SHE CAN HELP IT
Griffin knows Cat is destined to change the world-for the better. As the realms are descending into all-out war, Cat and Griffin must embrace their fate together. Gods willing, they will emerge side-by-side in the heart of their future kingdom…or not at all.

My Musings:Rather disappointing sequel to the much loved A Promise of Fire. I was shocked by how much of a slog I found this to get through.

It felt as though the novel simply flitted from one boring and repetitive sex scene to the next. There was no tension or passion. It was as if the sex was a filler for the lack of plot.

I believe it was around 65% before I felt that anything truly worthwhile happened in the story, and then only in the last 15-20% where I was actually enjoying myself.

The ending was very action packed and interesting, and the only thing about this sequel that reminded me of what I loved about the first book. Unfortunately by the time the action started it was just too little too late for me.

Unsure if I will continue with this series. What a colossal letdown. 1.5/5

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Bin

 

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

A Quiet Kind of ThunderA Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Goodreads Blurb: Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen.
Their love isn’t a lightning strike, it’s the rumbling roll of thunder.

Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life – she’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to look after him. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.

From the bestselling author of Beautiful Broken Things comes a love story about the times when a whisper is as good as a shout. Continue reading

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

Mad Miss MimicMad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Goodreads Blurb: Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people’s voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her “Mad Miss Mimic” behind her back… and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo…but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations – but to do so, she must first find her voice. Continue reading

Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys

Dead Girls SocietyDead Girls Society by Michelle Krys

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 
Goodreads Blurb: You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college. And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she might win some real money.

But the Society isn’t all it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement. Continue reading

Big Kid Books | The Heartfix: An Online Dating Diary by Stella Grey

The Heartfix: An Online Dating DiaryThe Heartfix: An Online Dating Diary by Stella Grey

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Stella Grey is a fifty something divorcee who is ready to start dating again. Warily she ventures into online dating. This book chronicles her three year long experience. The premise caught my eye right away, I am always interested in books about online relationships and I was curious how online experiences differ by age.

However what I did not consider was how online experiences would differ by personality. Here is where I had a hard time relating to the author, and indeed in a book with a premise such as this it is important that the author be at least a little relatable and sympathetic. It was hard to “ be in her corner” when she came across as so many cliches that are found in online dating, and what many men are accused of labeling online women as…bitter, angry, snobby, obsessive.

I think a small amount of each of these is understandable considering her situation, especially in the beginning of her experience. But the large amount of these qualities tainted the story for me. It was hard to agree that every guy was a classless jerk when in all fairness she herself displayed a lot of unlikable qualities.

There were also a lot of contradictions, for example she complains about one line greetings from men but then she herself does it. She also complains about clinginess in an admirer even though earlier she had practically stalked a man and went on and on about how daily communication was important to her….Of course nobody is perfect, but I have never had much patience for hypocrites. 1.5/5

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Bin

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

A Song to Take the World Apart by Zan Romanoff

A Song to Take the World ApartA Song to Take the World Apart by Zan Romanoff

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Goodreads Blurb: What if you could make someone love you back, just by singing to them? Fans of Jandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You the Sun and Leslye Walton’s The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender will be captivated by this contemporary love story with hints of magical realism.

Hanging out with Chris was supposed to make Lorelei’s life normal. He’s cooler, he’s older, and he’s in a band, which means he can teach her about the music that was forbidden in her house growing up. Her grandmother told her when she was little that she was never allowed to sing, but listening to someone else do it is probably harmless— right?

The more she listens, though, the more keenly she can feel her own voice locked up
in her throat, and how she longs to use it. And as she starts exploring the power her grandmother never wanted her to discover, influencing Chris and everyone around her, the foundations of Lorelei’s life start to crumble. There’s a reason the women in her family never want to talk about what their voices can do.

And a reason Lorelei can’t seem to stop herself from singing anyway. Continue reading