Things I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik

Things I Should Have KnownThings I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Goodreads Blurb: From the author of Epic Fail comes the story of Chloe Mitchell, a Los Angeles girl on a quest to find love for her autistic sister, Ivy. Ethan, from Ivy’s class, seems like the perfect match. It’s unfortunate that his older brother, David, is one of Chloe’s least favorite people, but Chloe can deal, especially when she realizes that David is just as devoted to Ethan as she is to Ivy.

Uncommonly honest and refreshingly funny, this is a story about sisterhood, autism, and first love. Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan, who form a quirky and lovable circle, will steal readers’ hearts and remind us all that it’s okay to be a different kind of normal.

 My Musings: When I picked up Things I Should Have Known, I wasn’t sure what to expect. YA romances always have the chance of being too cheesy for me and mental illness is not always represented genuinely.

However I was pleasantly surprised in both aspects. The autistic characters in the story and their relatives, how people reacted to everything, felt very authentic.

In the authors bio it did state that she had a son who was autistic and had written two books on autism so I guess that’s why this book ended up reading so refreshing and true. The main character also felt very true to age which I appreciated.

A couple small parts were predictable but it wasn’t too bad.

Overall great read that I devoured. Would definitely recommend.

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Buy

 

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

