The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko by Scott Stambach

The Invisible Life of Ivan IsaenkoThe Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko by Scott Stambach

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Goodreads Blurb: The Fault In Our Stars meets One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Seventeen-year-old Ivan Isaenko is a life-long resident of the Mazyr Hospital for Gravely Ill Children in Belarus. For the most part, every day is exactly the same for Ivan, which is why he turns everything into a game, manipulating people and events around him for his own amusement.

Until Polina arrives.

She steals his books. She challenges his routine. The nurses like her.

She is exquisite. Soon, he cannot help being drawn to her and the two forge a romance that is tenuous and beautiful and everything they never dared dream of. Before, he survived by being utterly detached from things and people. Now, Ivan wants something more: Ivan wants Polina to live.

My Musings: So this book has been marketed as a more “raw” version of The Fault in Our Stars. I don’t really see the comparison myself, but I suppose any book nowadays about a sick teenager is automatically likened to The Fault in Our Stars.

I did find this book to be very well written and engaging. I am always a sucker for a book about a sick teen, especially sick teens in love. I blame Lurlene McDaniel.

The writing was very fresh and polished. I loved Ivan’s sardonic sense of humour. The love interest didn’t interest me very much per say but she was decent enough.

Overall I found this to be a creative and introspective read, and not nearly as depressing as it looked (but still kind of). 3.5/5

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Borrow

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

