All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

All the Ugly and Wonderful ThingsAll the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Goodreads Blurb: As the daughter of a meth dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. Struggling to raise her little brother, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible “adult” around. She finds peace in the starry Midwestern night sky above the fields behind her house. One night everything changes when she witnesses one of her father’s thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold, wreck his motorcycle. What follows is a powerful and shocking love story between two unlikely people that asks tough questions, reminding us of all the ugly and wonderful things that life has to offer.

My Musings:

WARNING: HUGE SPOILER FILLED RANT INCOMING!

This book took me a while to get through, even though the writing was very well done, the dark subject matter was hard to plow through at times. I loved this book, and Wavy was such an interesting character. Of course I felt terrible for her. I was happy when she was able to find some comforting friendship with Kellen, even if the relationship was a bit odd.

HOWEVER when that relationship evolved…or I supposed I should say devolved into a thirteen year old giving a 24 year old a hand job among other things, the brakes skidded on this previously cute and quirky couple for me. I mean seriously WHAT.THE.FUCK. I know, I know, I know, their relationship is unconventional because they both came from abusive home lives and lonely childhoods, and they just want to find love and comfort wherever they can yadda, yadda, yadda. But , yeah, sorry, no.


I don’t think there is a single situation where I would find this kind of relationship acceptable. It would have been one thing if he had at least waited for her to mature into an adult before moving the relationship in that direction but he didn’t, and frankly I am glad that he went to jail.

I find it very interesting that the aunt who was only trying to protect her niece from a pedophile was vilified so harshly and yet Kellen aka PedoBear, was portrayed as the suffering hopeless romantic. I don’t know I mean I would have been totally behind their relationship if it didn’t involve sexual acts between a child and an adult, but as such this is 2016 not 1602 and child/adult romances are no longer acceptable.

/End Rant

Despite my ranting I loved the writing and thought that this book was very well done. I mean if nothing else it certainly leaves an impression and gets you talking. I am happy that Wavy got her happy ending I just wish that it could have been accomplished in a less pedo way. Still I look forward to reading more from this author.

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Buy (for writing quality), Borrow or Bin if you agreed with my rant.

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

I don’t think there is a single situation where I would find this kind of relationship acceptable. It would have been one thing if he had at least waited for her to mature into an adult before moving the relationship in that direction but he didn’t, and frankly I am glad that he went to jail.

I find it very interesting that the aunt who was only trying to protect her niece from a pedophile was vilified so harshly and yet Kellen aka PedoBear, was portrayed as the suffering hopeless romantic. I don’t know I mean I would have been totally behind their relationship if it didn’t involve sexual acts between a child and an adult, but as such this is 2016 not 1602 and child/adult romances are no longer acceptable.

/End Rant

Despite my ranting I loved the writing and thought that this book was very well done. I mean if nothing else it certainly leaves an impression and gets you talking. I am happy that Wavy got her happy ending I just wish that it could have been accomplished in a less pedo way. Still I look forward to reading more from this author. (hide spoiler)]

Leave a Reply

