Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

venGoodreads Blurb: Revenge is worth its weight in gold.

When her father is murdered for a journal revealing the location of a hidden gold mine, eighteen-year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers—and justice. What she finds are untrustworthy strangers, endless dust and heat, and a surprising band of allies, among them a young Apache girl and a pair of stubborn brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, a startling truth becomes clear: some men will stop at nothing to get their hands on gold, and Kate’s quest for revenge may prove fatal.

My Musings:

Mini Review

I don’t have much experience with Westerns so the only thing I can really compare this book to is True Grit, but damn this was good. This book is fairly comparable to True Grit, but I did try to separate the two stories and I suppose apart from a young girl seeking revenge for her father their similarities end there.

Overall I found this to be a fun, suspenseful adventure with a great believable and sympathetic main character. I also found it neat that this was based off of a popular myth. Ironically enough when I really like a book I find it hard to review,so please don’t let my crappy review deter you from this book. Just believe me when I say you need to read this, it’s great. 5/5

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Buy

Leave a Reply

