When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez

when reason breaksGoodreads Blurb: 13 Reasons Why meets the poetry of Emily Dickinson in this gripping debut novel perfect for fans of Sara Zarr or Jennifer Brown.

A Goth girl with an attitude problem, Elizabeth Davis must learn to control her anger before it destroys her. Emily Delgado appears to be a smart, sweet girl, with a normal life, but as depression clutches at her, she struggles to feel normal. Both girls are in Ms. Diaz’s English class, where they connect to the words of Emily Dickinson. Both are hovering on the edge of an emotional precipice. One of them will attempt suicide. And with Dickinson’s poetry as their guide, both girls must conquer their personal demons to ever be happy.

In an emotionally taut novel with a richly diverse cast of characters, readers will relish in the poetry of Emily Dickinson and be completely swept up in the turmoil of two girls grappling with demons beyond their control.

My Musings: I never trust the ratings of books that feature sensitive topics because I feel that readers often bump up their reviews for fear of insulting anyone. While I appreciate authors writing about harder materials, I don’t think that warrants an automatic star bump.

This novel did not work for me, I feel that when it comes to addressing depression in a novel, especially a YA novel, it can easily turn into an unintended parody. I personally suffer from depression, yet the suicidal character inspired no sympathy from me. To be quite honest by the end of the book my only response was “Boo F***ing Who”.

At the end of the day this novel came across more as Teen Angst: Extreme Edition, rather than a sensitive tale of two teenagers dealing with difficult circumstances. Then again maybe I’m just a bitch. /shrugs 1/5

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Bin

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s