Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer

thicker than waterGoodreads Blurb: Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect.

Not that there’s any evidence. But before Thomas got to Garretts Mill there had just been one other murder in twenty years.

The only person who believes him is Charlotte Rooker, little sister to three cops and, with her soft hands and sweet curves, straight-up dangerous to Thomas. Her best friend was the other murder vic. And she’d like a couple answers.

Answers that could get them both killed, and reveal a truth Thomas would die to keep hidden…

My Musings: Ermagerd that suspense! I loved this book. At first I was very frustrated with Charlotte, to the point of it taking away from the story but over time I was able to just shrug it off and get back into the plot. Thomas was an extremely sympathetic character and my heart ached for him.

I didn’t really get a star crossed lovers vibe while reading this even though I know that seemed to be the intention. I definitely felt an attraction between the two leads but nothing as dramatic as the description implies. I did like the twist near the end, although I did suspect it as I’ve seen that general sort of twist before. Nevertheless it was still pretty crazy and I can’t wait to find out what happens next.

I would have liked to have seen more of the paranormal aspect of the story but I suppose that that will be fleshed out in subsequent books. Overall I really enjoyed this book, it had a unique and interesting premise and I found the characters to be well thought out. 4/5

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Buy

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

