Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everythingGoodreads Blurb: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

My Musings: I’m so torn about this book. On one hand I had a blast, and I was up all night reading it. (Which I appreciate, because lately not a lot of books have captured my interest enough to manage that.) On the other hand I had a few issues with this book, and while they were only a couple I felt that they greatly impacted the novel.

The first big issue for me was the mother daughter relationship in the book. In my opinion, the mother- daughter relationship was unrealistic. Granted, the relationship of these characters would understandably be somewhat different than the norm, but to me it felt like the author was writing a fantasy teenage daughter, rather than a real one. This book requires some suspension of disbelief in that regard.

My second issue was the ending. To be fair I loved the ending and I loved the plot overall. I thought that it was creative and clever. However, and this is a big however…the ending was extremely predicable. This is so unfortunate because I really feel like it could have been amazing and shocking and awesome, but there were simply too many hints sprinkled all over the novel from very early on. This left me rather underwhelmed by the twist, when all was revealed.

At the end of the day, I did like this novel in general. It was a fun read with smooth writing and it was very easy to get through. I think that a lot of YA fans will enjoy this. Others might not have the issues that I had with this novel and I think that if you are lucky enough not to predict the ending, this could be a five star read for you. For me this is a solid 3.5/5.

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict:Borrow

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

