Big Kid Books | The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells by Virginia Macgregor

return of norahGoodreads Blurb: One ordinary morning, Norah walked out of her house on Willoughby Street and never looked back. Six years later, she returns to the home she walked away from only to find another woman in her place. Fay held Norah’s family together after she disappeared, she shares a bed with Norah’s husband and Norah’s youngest daughter calls Fay ‘Mummy’.

Now that Norah has returned, everyone has questions. Where has she been? Why did she leave? And why is she back? As each member of the family tries to find the answers they each need, they must also face up to the most pressing question of all – what happens to The Mother Who Stayed when The Mother Who Left comes back?

From the author of What Milo Saw, comes this powerful, emotional and perceptive novel about what it takes to hold a family together and what you’re willing to sacrifice for the ones you love.

My Musings: Me, while reading family sagas

I don’t normally read family drama’s, or multiple narratives for that matter, yet this author seems to always be able to pull me in. I thought that this story was very well written and thought provoking. Ms. Macgregor truly is the master of the multiple narrative and I love how she writes children’s voices.

While I did enjoy this book, I must say that I absolutely hated the main character of the story. Norah….man I hated her and I tried to keep an open mind while reading this but gah she really made my blood boil. But I must say that I’m impressed that the author managed to keep me engrossed even through all my rage lol.

I would definitely recommend this to fans of family sagas who don’t mind a couple frustrating characters in the mix. I think that this would make a great book club read because it is impossible not to go on long tangents while reading this, and talking to a group rather than loudly arguing with yourself on the train is probably the preferable situation. 4/5

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Buy

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

