Big Kid Books |People I Want to Punch in the Throat by Jen Mann

peopleiwanttopunchGoodreads Blurb: A debut collection of witty, biting essays laced with a surprising warmth, from Jen Mann, the writer behind the popular blog People I Want to Punch in the Throat
 
People I want to punch in the throat:
• anyone who feels the need to bling her washer and dryer
• humblebraggers
• people who treat their pets like children
 
Jen Mann doesn’t have a filter, which sometimes gets her in trouble with her neighbors, her fellow PTA moms, and that one woman who tried to sell her sex toys at a home shopping party. Known for her hilariously acerbic observations on her blog, People I Want to Punch in the Throat, Mann now brings her sharp wit to bear on suburban life, marriage, and motherhood in this laugh-out-loud collection of essays.

From the politics of joining a play group, to the thrill of mothers’ night out at the gun range, to the rewards of your most meaningful relationship (the one you have with your cleaning lady), nothing is sacred or off-limits. So the next time you find yourself wearing fuzzy bunny pajamas in the school carpool line or accidentally stuck at a co-worker’s swingers party, just think, What would Jen Mann do? Or better yet, buy her book.

My Musings: I’m pretty picky when it comes to humour novels. Comedy is so subjective that I don’t even check reviews when picking out such books because it’s just too difficult to rate. There are many popular humour books that I absolutely hate, luckily this was not one of them.

I often have a hard time with female comics(I know I know I’m betraying my gender) but seriously I just don’t find most female comics funny. There seems to only be one available subject for these women and that is sex(usually going on and on about what a “big whore” they are…Amy Schumer I’m looking at you).

What I enjoy(and what this book delivers on),is the other less popular but still entertaining subject of “bad mom humour”, and I must admit that I am a sucker for this.

This book was really funny and better than I thought it would be. It’s not quite at the level of How Not to Calm a Child on a Plane: And Other Lessons in Parenting from a Highly Questionable Source but it’s still a barrel of laughs. I would definitely recommend this, and you don’t need to be a mother to enjoy this book. 4/5

I look forward to checking out this authors other works. Overall I would rate this as a buy.

Note: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

Pst: This book contains lots of swears.

Leave a Reply

