Romantic Fantasy | Every Day by David Levithan

everydayGoodreads Blurb: Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

“Yesterday is another world. I want to go back there.”
― David Levithan, Every Day

My Musings: What a beautiful, tragic story of star crossed lovers. I honestly didn’t really know what to expect when I started this book, but it turned out to be really cool. Like any story with this type of plot(possession), I end up with millions of questions regarding the “how” of it all. How did this happen to A? Who are A’s parents?

What happens if you die while in a body? Is it moral to use someone’s body to kiss other people, or run away or drink beer, do drugs ect? If body swapping is geographical does that mean that if you inhabited a body and moved to a desert island, that you would stay in that body forever? What happens to the original person when you inhabit their body? I mean, I could go on forever.

One of this novels saving grace is that we never know more than the main character, so while it is frustrating to be left in the dark, the main character is just as frustrated as we are. However, I think that the promise of answers is enough to keep me following this series for as long as the author decides to write it.

While this is a love story, it did take me a while to feel the love. To be honest, for a long while it read more like an obsession to me, and that was a little creepy. You always want to be on the hero’s side and have everything work out for them, including their love interests. However despite my initial annoyance at Rhiannon for giving our (boy?) a hard time, I still understood all of her issues with their relationship. Rhiannon is the voice of reason and A is the hopeless romantic in us all.

The story’s conclusion was probably the most bittersweet ending that I have read in a long time. And while I saw some of it coming there were still some really great twists in the plot.

4/5

Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: Buy

2 thoughts on “Romantic Fantasy | Every Day by David Levithan

    • Yeah I literally just made this blog a couple days ago lol. Before this I was a guest blogger on a friends site, but I decided to bite the bullet and branch out with my own blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

